PhD Uk scholarships United Kingdom

University of Oxford – Weidenfeld-Hoffmann Scholarships

Written by Liam

This scholarship covers 100% of the tuition fee for the study duration and a grant of at least £15,258!

Created in 2015, the Weidenfeld and Hoffmann Scholarships and Leadership Programme aims to give students and professionals coming from developing and emerging economies the opportunity to pursue fully-funded graduate studies at Oxford, along with long-term mentoring and networking, as well as a comprehensive program of leadership development.

Scholarship Information:

  • Scholarship Sponsor(s): Oxford–Weidenfeld and Hoffmann Scholarships;
  • Eligible Nationalities: See eligible countries;
  • Study Level: Postgraduate;
  • Scholarship Worth: Full tuition fees and a grant for living costs (£15,000);
  • Application Deadline: 31st January, 2021.

The application deadline differs from a program to another, applicants must check the relevant course page to see the deadline that’s applicable to their chosen course.

Scholarship benefits:

  • This scholarship covers 100% of the tuition fee.
  • Grant of at least £15,258 for living expenses.

Eligible courses:

• BCL Bachelor of Civil Law
• MBA Master of Business Administration
• MJur Magister Juris
• MSc Financial Economics
• MSc Global Governance and Diplomacy
• MPP Master of Public Administration and Policy
• MSc African Studies
• MSc Contemporary Chinese Studies
• MPhil in Development Studies
• MSt Diplomatic Studies
• MSc Comparative Social Policy
• MSc Biodiversity, Conservation and Management
• MSc Computer Science
• MSc Economics for Development
• MSc Energy Systems
• MSc Environmental Change and Management
• MSc Evidence-Based Social Intervention and Policy Evaluation
• MSc Global Health Science
• MSc International Health and Tropical Medicine
• MSt Islamic Studies and History
• MSt Jewish Studies
• MSc Education (Comparative and International Education)
• MSc Education (Higher Education)
• MSt Korean Studies
• MSc Latin American Studies
• MSc Law and Finance
• MSc Modern Middle Eastern Studies
• MSc Modern South Asian Studies
• MSc Sustainability, Enterprise and the Environment
• MSc Water Science, Policy and Management
• MSc Mathematical Modelling and Scientific Computing
• MSc Migration Studies
• MSc Nature, Society and Environmental Governance
• MSc Refugee and Forced Migration Studies
• MSc Social Science of the Internet

Eligible countries:

Afghanistan, Albania, Indonesia, Iran, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Armenia Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Barbados, Argentina, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Brazil, Brunei, Darussalam, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, China Tibet China, Hong Kong, SAR China, Macau SAR, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Dem. Rep. Congo, Rep. Croatia, Cuba, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast),Dominica Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Fiji, French Guiana, Gabon, Gambia, The Georgia Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, India, Jamaica, Japan, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (North), Korea (South), Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao PDR, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, FYR Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Syria, Taiwan (Republic of China), Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Palestinian territories, Panama, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Russian Federation, Samoa, Estonia, Ethiopia, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua, New Guinea, Serbia, Seychelles, Paraguay, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, United Arab Emirates Peru, Philippines, Poland, São Tomé and Príncipe Qatar, Réunion Romania, , Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, St Kitts and Nevis, Sudan, Suriname, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, , Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Western Sahara, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Eligibility requirements:

• Applicants must first apply to start a graduate study program at the University of Oxford.
• Applicants must be intending to return to their home country once they complete their study program.
• Applicants must be able to explain the connection between their subject of study and their long term career objectives; explain how can their professional work contribute to the improvement of the public life in their country.

How to apply:

To be considered for this scholarship, students must select the Weidenfeld-Hoffmann Scholarships and Leadership Programme in the scholarships section of The university of oxford’s graduate application form, and submit their application for graduate study before their program’s relevant deadline.

Shortlisted candidate will be required to participate in an interview that will be held online in April or May 2021.

Official Website:


About the author